burlap and cashmere

the fabric of my life

Every Minute May 20, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — burlapandcashmere @ 8:12 am

It always seems like the time goes by faster when you feel like you have very little. About 48 wonderfully short hours was spent with my beloved best friend this weekend. It was glorious to see her and laugh, hug, giggle, cry and have fun with her. I truly love to see her in her element-among friends. This is where her light shines brightly. But the whole time I was selfishly thinking that I wanted everyone to leave so that I could make every minute with her count. I took every minute and stored them away in my heart to keep until the next time we see each other. Those small moments are so very dear to me because we have so very few of them in this life, and when they are few and far between, the urgent yearning for them becomes even greater. Precious gems, every one.
Sara Groves, Every Minute
I am long on staying.
I am slow to leave.
Especially when it comes to you my friend.
You have taught me slow down.
And to prop up my feet.
It’s the fine art of being who I am..
And I can’t figure out.
Why you want me around.
I’m not the smartest person I have ever met.
But somehow that doesn’t matter.
No it never really mattered to you at all..
And at the risk of wearing out my welcome.
At the risk of self-discovery.
I’ll take every moment.
And every minute that you’ll give me..
And I can think of time when families all lived together.
Four generations in one house.
And the table was full of good food.
And friends and neighbors.
That’s not how we like it now..
Cause if you sit at home you’re a loser.
Couldn’t you find anything better to do.
Well no I couldn’t think of one thing.
I would rather waste my time on than sitting here with you..
And at the risk of wearing out my welcome.
At the risk of self-discovery.
I’ll take every moment.
And every minute that you’ll give me..
And I wish all the people I love the most.
Could gather in one place.
And know each other and love each other well..
And I wish we could all go camping.
And lay beneath the stars.
And have nothing to do and stories to tell.
We’d sit around the campfire.
And we’d make each other laugh remembering when.
You’re the first one I’m inviting.
Always know that you’re invited my friend..
And at the risk of wearing out my welcome.
At the risk of self-discovery.
I’ll take every moment.
And every minute that you’ll give me.
Every moment and every minute that you’ll give me.
Every moment and every minute that you’ll give me.
Every minute..

 

2 Responses to “Every Minute”

  1. Kristenanne Says:

    Thank you.
    Tears.
    I love you.

  2. I loved this. Wow. How blessed you are, and she is. xo


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.