burlap and cashmere

the fabric of my life

Love and Miracles May 22, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — burlapandcashmere @ 3:54 pm

Today, I recieved a prayer request by email for 3 different preemies in my mother in laws fellowship. They were all born at just about the same time as Cayle-Hannah –25 weeks or earlier and under 2 lbs. They all have a list as long a my arm of problems that they are facing, simply because they were born way too early. One of them , Branden is the one surviving triplet born at 24 weeks. His sibs died because they were just too small and fragile. I cannot even describe my sadness and grief for this family. and they have such long road ahead with Branden. When Cayle was born at 25 weeks and 1lb, 13 oz. I was in such a state of shock. She was born by emergency c-sec. because she dropped her heart rate during a in- utero transfusion. When she was born, the neonatologist said that she was as white as the sheet they laid her on. She was dead. They revived her and she has fought like a champion ever since. In the NICU she had only minor problems compared to other preemies of her gestation and now at almost 3, she has very minor developmental delays. She is perfect in every way possible. When she was born we were told that there was a less than 2% chance of this. She is our beautiful miracle.
When we found out I was pg with Evan, we were well aware of the risks of my pregnancy. His pregnancy and birth was a miracle , too. He had 5 blood transfusions in-utero before he was born at 30 weeks. He was a bruiser at 4lbs. 7 oz. that is big for a 30 weeker, but this time we were anticipating an early baby, so from the beginning of my pregnancy, I drank high protein Boost and ate a lot of good fats and protein. At 30 weeks I had already gained 35 lbs. I gained only 28 with Aidan at 10 days overdue!!!! So, Evan was in much better shape than Cayle, to say the least. He was never on a ventilator and only on Cpap for about half a day. He was in the NICU for only 5 weeks, and is now 2 lbs bigger than Cayle!!
So, the long road that has been the past 3 1/2 years is just one thing that I am thankful and grateful for everyday. I believe that the appreciation that is in my life and heart could not be here if not for the tragedies that we have faced. This is why I hug my kids tighter than needed and kiss them and say I love you to them countless times a day.

 

2 Responses to “Love and Miracles”

  1. Kristenanne Says:

    bless your childrens lives. Thank you Jesus!
    Love you always
    me

  2. Just Me Says:

    Wow two early births. You are a trooper and it’s great to hear that they are both doing well.


Leave a Reply

