burlap and cashmere

the fabric of my life

More of the Story… June 3, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — burlapandcashmere @ 1:35 pm

So, life was grand with our new son. He was a great nurser from day1 and a great sleeper too. He was an extremely laid back baby and happy most of the time. I knew every day what a blessing he was. Well, one day in June of 2002, Aidan was about six months and I was nursing and all of a sudden I felt this hard tickle–on the inside of my belly. And again about 5 secs. later..wait, what is that, I thought? I am not one who suffers from gas or anything, and I had felt that feeling only 1 time before. When I was pg with Aidan. I hadn’t gotten my monthlys back yet and my dh and I had not been very careful… well I was pregnant again. I had no idea I was pg. I still had a bit of a tummy from Aidan and like I said-no monthlys yet. But the second I felt that in my tummy.. I knew. my first thought was disbelief..”how did this happen?” The second was..how pregnant am I if I can feel the baby already? I felt Aidan at 21 weeks. So as soon as Aidan was done eating, we rushed along to our local walgreens to buy a stick test–a package with 3 actually, just in case. Back home, the two lines appeared before I was done peeing on it!! so since Fathers day was just 3 days away, I decided to surprise Troy. First, I called Jane* my midwife and told her. She was as surprised as me. I made an appointment to see her the next day and she felt my tummy and measured an guesstimated that I was about 18 weeks. Um yea. I got pregnant when Aidan was about 8 weeks old. An even bigger surprise for Troy awaited him… So come Sunday morn and I had wrapped up the test and put in a little package inside a bigger one with cheesy hat that said “Super Dad” with the superman emblem on it. I had Aidan “color” a card for Daddy and it said “I’m gonna be a big brother…Surprise” You’re the best Daddy ever”And then i said ‘by the way I am 18 weeks and we are due right after A’s birthday.’ He never saw that coming!!! But he said he couldn’t have gotten a better present.
So, along goes the pregnancy, I felt great the whole time and this babe moved a ton more than A did. Jane said that I felt this baby more because it had a bit more “leg room” being as it’s home was still over sized from big bro. And A was still nursing, so I had something pressing on my tum all the time, and that is when the babe moved the most..didn’t like the space invasion too much. ;0 Well, I got bigger and A turned one, he burnt his little finger on the candle, poor thing, so he never ate his cake at the party. The babe had been moving a ton–like so much that it would go from breech to head down a couple times a day–I could feel this happening every time..and it was so uncomfortable!! December 7 comes and it’s the day before our estimated due date. I start feeling contractions–strong ones. With A, I had cont. for days, so I didn’t get too excited… but I knew that soon I would meet our babe. Before church that night I called Jane and let her know the deal. Our fellowship was 3 min. from our home at the time so if something REALLY started happening I could go right home. I had mentioned to her that the babe was not moving a whole bunch–just kinda quiet. She explained that babies can “settle down” literally and figuratively before the birth. She thought there was no worries , but offered to come and check on the babe. I said no,no we’ll be fine.
At church, my dear friends prayed for me and the baby and I felt the baby move some more and I had more cont. It was a good night and I slept great all night, despite the cont.
Next morn, we went and had breakfast at our dear friends house. After , we went up to RMH to see T’s dad . He had been in the hos. for chemo and radiation. We were going to help Mom and Dad celebrate their 38 th Ann. All of the “kids” had put together a video of their lives as children and then married and it was really sweet and everyone cried because we all knew that Dad was really sick.
When we were there I realized that I hadn’t felt the baby in a bit and I told Troy as we were leaving. So we decided to call Jane and have her meet us at the house to do a check. When she got there, she asked me some ?’s about the cont. and how I felt and all that. I said that I felt fine and I have had cont. on and off all night up till now. But that I hadn’t felt the baby move for a bit. So, she put the cold gel on my tum and then the dopplar, and at that moment our lives changed forever. It was silent.

 

One Response to “More of the Story…”

  1. Just Me Says:

    I don’t know you but I am so sorry for what you’ve gone through. I just had a misscarriage a few weeks ago so in a way I know what you may have gone through with your first pregency. I will check back to see the finished portion of this story. And my prayers are with you!


Leave a Reply

