burlap and cashmere

the fabric of my life

My, how the years have flown! November 15, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — burlapandcashmere @ 5:31 pm

I saw this list going around..not sure exactly where..was on a few random blogs! I have nothing else to write about sooo here goes

One year ago: We were still living in the same place. Aidan was almost 4, Cayle-Hannah had just turned 2 and started talking up a storm. Evan had just started crawling. My friend Kristen was here visiting with me. She came and played with my babies, we sat on the couch until a wee hour and snuggled and visited. It was grand.

Two years ago: In October, Troy had fell from his tree stand on opening day of bow season which resulted in a basal skull fracture, 4 vertebrae fractures and equilibrium and balance issues that he still deals with. While he was in the hospital, we found out that I was pregnant with Evan. I got knocked up with him on our 5 year anniversary, 4 weeks prior! What an exciting week that was!

Three years ago: Our precious baby girl was just finishing up her 13 week stay in the NICU! She was born the day after our anniversary, by emergency c-section. She was 15 weeks early weighing in at just 1 lb and 13 ounces. She was 13 3/4 inches long!!! 10 days after she was born, I was admitted into the hospital for a blood clot in each of my lungs as a result of the surgery. I was in the cardiac unit for 7 days and continued to be on heparin (a blood thinner) for 6 months after. As a result of my blood clot, I had to give myself injections of the same blood thinner twice daily while pregnant with Evan and was on pill form 6 months after his birth as well. Also, my mom had passed away 3 months before Cayle-Hannah was born. It was sudden and unexpected.

Five years ago: I was 39 weeks pregnant with Aidan. We were planning a homebirth with a midwife. My dear son wanted to continue roasting well past his due date. 5 days after his due date (Nov. 20) I spoke to him in my best firm voice to my tummy “Baby, you WILL be born in November, do you hear me?” After a 36 hour labor and only 20 minutes of pushing our first son was born at home, weighing in at 9lbs 6 oz and 21 1/2 inches long. He was born on November 30. The last day of the month.

Seven years ago: We were starry-eyed newlyweds.

Ten years ago: I was 19 and had just taken a live-in nanny position for a family in Winnetka. The kids were a 14 year old girl and 7 year old twins, a boy and a girl. This family would teach me so much about what actual functioning families looked like. Just 5 months prior, my own family had all moved to Tennessee. My Dad wanted to open up a tourist business in Gatlinburg.
My family was quite dysfunctional and I was actually quite glad and relieved when they moved. I was also shared shitless because I had never known any other life. I lived with them for 2 1/2 years, until a month before I got married. I still keep in touch with the family.
Also, during this time of my life I had an amazing bunch of girlfriends. We were together A LOT and discovered together the power of God and the Holy Spirit in our lives.

15 years ago: I was a scared, pathetic little freshman who looked like I was 10 instead of 14. I had just gotten my period the summer before starting high school and I had just the “buds” of breasts starting. I was a nerd who got bad grades and had 2 friends.

20 years ago: I was 9. We lived on a little farmette in Marengo and life was pretty good. My dad owned a prosperous gun shop in town and my mom hadn’t started abusing pain pills yet. I had a new baby sister to take care of and play mommy with and we got to run around in the wood and fields behind our house. It was the last Christmas that I remember that was still “magical” for me.

 

2 Responses to “My, how the years have flown!”

  1. Karyn Says:

    Hey girl! Thanks for leaving a comment at Miss Conception! 🙂 I cannot begin to think of how to illustrate my life succinctly at those periods…. but I will think about it and will very likely be snagging this for my own!

    -k

  2. Kila Says:

    Wow, that’s quite a journey you’ve been on!

    My DH left last night for a weekend of deer hunting, along with his dad and brother and uncle and cousins, etc. Hopefully no accidents!


Leave a Reply

