burlap and cashmere

the fabric of my life

On my soapbox October 24, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — burlapandcashmere @ 10:21 am

I don’t usually post about things that are happening in current events, but this is something very important to me. It is the headline about cough and cold medicines for babies and children being banned. I say it is about time! I have always believed in natural ways of treating sickness, and for this I have had many raised eyebrows from my MIL, SIL and my husband as well. Recently though, he is seeing the benefits of how we treat our kids colds in comparison with his sister who medicates A LOT more than we do. (her kids are sick a lot.)

That being said, I think it is horribly sad that children had to die or become very ill before the medical community paid attention to the affects of these OTC meds on babies and kids. No family should go through the pain of losing a child, especially when it could have been prevented. Here is the link to an article that my FAVE magazine did on the subject.

http://www.mothering.com/sections/news_bulletins/october2007.html#cold

Go. Educate yourself. Get smarter. Be proactive about your family’s life and health.

 

Leave a Reply

